top of page



Heather Dusenbury

Underwriter at Aviva

Congratulations to our 2017 YIP of the Year: Heather Dusenbury


What Heather's peers had to say:

"Heather’s commitment to creating a positive image of young insurance professionals and of the insurance industry in general is inspiring."

"Heather shows ongoing initiative, leadership and dedication. She devotes herself to sustained and selfless voluntary service such as volunteering to be an Aviva Community Fund Ambassador, Aviva Pink Day Ambassador (breast cancer awareness) and Red Cross Mapathon volunteer."

"Not only is she a well respected member of the insurance community (proven by her wide range of contacts around the industry), she works tirelessly to promote industry networking events & charitable opportunities. For example, Aviva won the clothing drive (Dress For Success & Dress Your Best) for the second year in a row. This wouldn't have been possible without Heather.'"


"Heather dedicates much of her own time to train her peers to accomplish personal career goals and providing work-life balance support encouraging networking functions and getting involved in the insurance industry."

"Heather was promoted to Specialist level at Aviva and one of the youngest in this role across Aviva Canada. She is a reverent leader, mentor, colleague and friend to all with the goal of accomplishing profitability goals of her company."

Congratulations to the rest of our 2017 YIP of the Year Finalists:

  • Natalie Whaley - Operations Supervisor, AIG Canada (Runner Up)

  • Thomas Wright - Program Director, Tredd Insurance Brokers

  • Alison Sinha - Underwriter, Burns & Wilcox Canada

  • Andrea Lim - Associate, Dutton Brock LLP

  • Jeff Kislasko - Underwriting Manager, Allianz Global Corporate & Specialty

Thank you to everyone who nominated their peers for 2017's YIP of the Year Award. This year saw a total of 46 nominations for 23 different young insurance professionals due to their outstanding performance and contributions to Toronto's insurance community.


The 2017 nominees were:

  • Adam Gee - Account Executive, McLean Hallmark Insurance Group

  • Allison Sinha - Underwriter, Burns & Wilcox Canada

  • Alliya Chawla​ - Business Development Manager, Intact Insurance

  • Andrea Lim - Lawyer, Dutton Brock

  • Arian Ebrahimi - Cofounder and Managing Partner, KASE Insurance

  • Brian Sheehy - Senior Underwriter, Mid-Corporate Programs, Allianz Global Corporate & Specialty

  • Chelsea Petre - Business Development Manager, Trinity Underwriting

  • David Barry - VP of Specialty Lines, Liberty International Underwriters

  • Gaurav Kapoor - Assistant Vice President (Associate Client Executive), Marsh Canada

  • Harsimarjot Sidhu - Diamond Insurance Group Inc

  • Heather Dusenbury - Underwriting Specialist, Aviva Canada

  • James Inwood - Branch Manager Oakville, St. Andrews Insurance Brokers

  • Jeffrey Kislasko - Underwriting Manager, Mid-Corporate Programs, Allianz Global Corporate & Specialty

  • Jennifer Lawrence - Account Manager, Platform Insurance

  • Kamran Afshar - Personal Lines Manager, Intact Insurance

  • Kristina Nelson - Underwriter, CHES Special Risk

  • Melanie Muise - Branch Director, Intact Insurance

  • Michelle Alexander - Senior Underwriter, AIG Canada

  • Natalie Whaley - Operations Supervisor, AIG Canada

  • Sandra Lefebvre - Senior Underwriter, SUM Insurance

  • Stanislav Kojokin - Partner, KASE Insurance

  • Thomas Wright - Program Director, Tredd Insurance Brokers

  • Trevor McIntosh - Regional Sales Manager, DAS Canada

  • Tyler Johnston - Assistant Vice President, Management Solutions Group, Zurich Canada

bottom of page